I feel this shoot went well as it allowed me to experiment with the SpeedLight and see how different intensities affected the skin in different ways. I loves how the backgrounds were so much darker than I anticipated they’d be. I also found that the skin of my subject looked beautiful and the light accentuated the olive tone to it.
I think the location was not the worst, however I may do a similar style shoot but using a different location but the same model.
I shall use a speed light again to achieve the interesting lighting and tones within the images. I will possibly experiment in different weather and ambient lighting conditions to see if the SpeedLight affects that at all.
My best images I feel show the personality of my subject Gabe. She has a cheeky look to her and she seems to be genuine in how she interacted with the camera. It was almost as if she was out with a friend instead of treating the camera like a ‘threat’ as some people do.
From this shoot I learnt that you should not be afraid of taking image of people you do not really know and that a SpeedLight can work in more ways than a fill.