For this part of the project we were asked to pick a brand and photograph one or more products from that brand. After researching, I decided on Heinz. I had chosen their hot sauce range and their classic Tomato Soup.
When photographing these items I used Elinchrom flash lights and often a soft box. This allowed for even light coverage and yet keep it hard enough that they look bold and punchy. I greatly enjoyed the post production side of this project which I believe I focused on more.
My first final edit I was very proud of, as I had not only been able to insert a chilli into the frame, but also changed the background colour and add in shadows convincingly.
My second final edit was a lot less convincing and less like a Heinz advert that the previous. I found that the quality was not there and it did not blend as well. However it tested my skills and I am still happy with that I achieved.
In this project, my main struggle was working with the products and making them have a character. I found that they would often look very plain and as if the image was lacking in style. That is why I focused so much on the post production side of the project.
I know that the editing side was my strongest point in this task and I was able to enhance skills. I used LightRoom more and built up confidence in using that as well as PhotoShop.
Something I definitely learnt from this task is to ensure the lights you use are making a difference. Though I used four lights in my first shoot, I feel I got a similar level of light output as in my second shoot with one light.
I still had the inspiration in mind from my part one of advertising from Ian Derry, though I felt I didn’t incorporate his influence as much. However I feel that the first of my two images I produced is very much in the style of Heinz and it deeply reflects the research I put into it.
If I were to undertake this project again I would time manage better and also strive to achieve both images being as well rounded and strong in influence from my research findings. I would also try a very different product from the brand and add in other prop items, such as the ingredients.
Overall, I feel I have been able to create work that looks of a high standard and shows creativity in ideas.