Now that I am aware on what the type of imagery I am to produce looks like, I shall be going out again on a bright day with a speed light to create some more environmental portraits of Gabriel the Longboarder again. I shall be asking her to look into the camera more, and, instead of being on her board, she will be asked to stand proudly.
I will be going on a day when there is less people and more intense sunlight. I will be using the speed light more to compensate for the hard shadows the sun will create.
I am taking influence from Jonathan Bielaski’s work and ensuring almost every image has eye contact with the camera.
Though the candid shots work, I aim to make these a little more staged in terms of how my subject is placed and positioned in the shot. This coupled with the eye contact should hopefully result in some well composed environmental images.